All-Party Parliamentary Group for Golf wishes Team Europe well for Ryder Cup

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Golf has wished the European Ryder Cup team well ahead of the forthcoming tournament in France.

In a letter to the Captain of Team Europe, Thomas Bjorn, Group Co-Chairs Craig Tracey MP and Stephen Gethins MP passed on the best wishes of all Members of the Group ahead of the tournament, taking place between 25-30 September at Le Golf National, Paris.

After a 17-11 defeat at Hazletine in 2016, Team Europe will be looking to repeat the success of 2014 when they defeated the USA at Gleneagles.

Team Europe features six British players: Justin Rose; Tyrrell Hatton; Tommy Fleetwood; Rory McIlroy; Paul Casey; and Ian Poulter. Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell and Lee Westwood are Vice-Captains.

Group Co-Chair and Member of Parliament for North Warwickshire, Craig Tracey MP, said “Group Members are looking forward to a fantastic spectacle later this week, and are delighted that the United Kingdom is well represented in Team Europe once again. We wish the team all the very best for the tournament.”

Member of Parliament for North East Fife and Group Co-Chair, Stephen Gethins MP, added “I hope that the Ryder Cup will help to promote golf in communities across the United Kingdom and inspire more people, and particularly young people, to get into golf, take part in physical activity, and keep fit and healthy.”